The people of Crail have always been very interesting and we have chosen a few for our exhibition this year including:
Bob began his working life as a ploughman on his parent’s farm in Crail before moving to the Fife Coal company as a woodcutter in 1938. He spent the next few years in employment all over Scotland before finding employment at the sawmill on the Balcaskie estate.
His interest in Crail Amateur Football Club stretched back to his very young days and on his return to Fife he became a member of the committee, helping with ticket sales and general administration.
Later he joined the ground staff, ensuring that the Beechwalk Park surface was kept in perfect condition.
His experience as a league player was also called upon on to assist with coaching and his familiarity with the squad often allowed him to choose the players that faced other local sides from week to week.
In 1961 – 62 they romped home to the league title winning all but their final game during the season.
James Peattie Provost of Crail 1878 – 1896
James Peattie put in hand a number of notable improvements which included:-
A new water supply and a comprehensive drainage system were introduced in 1880 as the old wells in Crail were blamed for outbreaks of Cholera and Typhoid.
Trees were planted in the Marketgate and Nethergate.
The River Byburn was covered over in the Tolbooth Wynd.
There were renovations of the Tolbooth and the Market Cross.
1884 Tennis Courts were constructed.
1886 The railway came to Crail
1892 The Bowling Green was initiated.
1893 Bicycles ridden without lights resulted in the rider either being fined or imprisoned.
His Portrait by William Pratt hangs in the Town Hall.
These are just two of the many fascinating characters we feature in our "Crail Characters" exhibition. No visit to Crail Museum is complete without dropping in to see more about the characters who helped make Crail what it is today.
Please note that the Crail Characters Exhibition is on the first floor of the Museum accessed only by stairs.